I can’t take all the credit, however. These macaroons are inspired by the perfect cocoa macaroons from Alma Handmade Chocolates in Portland, Oregon. I became obsessed with this shop and their macaroons when I lived in there.

Achieving a Sweet Salty Balance

These macaroons taste like something between a classic coconut macaroon and a fudgy brownie. I’ve also added a sprinkle of crunchy sea salt to the tops of mine because I really like having a sweet—salty balance in my baked treats.

The Secret Ingredient to Moist Macaroons

There’s one ingredient here that might be a surprise: applesauce! I took this tip from Elise’s recipe for Coconut Macaroons and it worked like a charm, adding moisture to the centers and preventing them from becoming dry or crumbly. I think my version of these macaroons nails the flavor of Alma’s original. I wasn’t able to do a side-by-side comparison so I can’t say for sure, but my memory says YES!

Tips for Success

These macaroons are made by coarsely grinding the shredded coconut and piping the cookies with a piping bag. This makes pretty, perfectly symmetrical cookies with a soft texture.If you are not planning to pipe these macaroons, leave the shredded coconut as is (do not grind) and shape the macaroons with a cookie scoop or large spoon.It’s not easy to tell by just looking at the color of these cookies if they are done since they’re already dark brown. You’ll know when they’re done when the cookies are still glossy but feel dry to the touch and yield slightly to gentle pressure.

More Passover-Perfect Desserts

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars Pecan Meringue Cookies Chocolate and Hazelnut Matzo Toffee Grain-Free Apple Honey Cake Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Place the pan over medium heat and cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture is pasty and hot to the touch. To shape by hand without piping: Use a cookie scoop or a large soup spoon to portion out the batter.