This spice blend is great with chicken, fish, steak, salad, sauces, pasta dishes, and many more.

Homemade Herb de Provence recipe

Have you ever thought of making your own herb de Provence at home from scratch? Well, if you haven’t then you should as it is easy and quick to make. You would make this spice blend literarily in 5 minutes. I am obsessed with herb de Provence and I do not shy away from it as I use it all the time in my cooking. It is versatile and not only great in French cuisines. This aromatic multipurpose seasoning work with virtually everything from vegetables to chicken, eggs, pork, fish, rice, and many more. I started making my spice blend at home after I got one from my local Tkmaxx. It consisted of 5 hearty spices, smells amazing and it just hit the right spot like it did after testing it with one of my popular Instant pot recipes, instant pot chicken legs. Once you learn how to make this spice blend at home, there will be no going back to store-bought.

Why you should be making yours at home

It is MSG free

Salt free

A must pantry staples, it is a great multipurpose seasoning to flavour your dishes

You know exactly what is going into the spice blend and no preservatives are needed too

It can store in the cupboard for up to a year but I can bet you will be using this up quicker than you think

It makes a great gift for family and friends.

What is herb de Provence made from

My homemade herb de Provence spice consist of various herbs that are traditionally used in the Provence of France and I think this is what makes it the best. I used the following 5 dry herbs in their order of importance. Oregano Savory Thyme Rosemary Basil

I bet you probably want to know if there is Lavender in herbes de Provence?

Yes, some recipes uses culinary lavender flower but it’s not a must, in fact the best herb de Provence seasoning I have used, did not contain lavender flower. Other spices and herbs included in making the Provencial herb includes Tarragon Parsley Bay leaves Fennel Marjoram Chervil Mint While the above herbs and spices are a great addition to making this spice blend, some of them might dictate or dominate the dishes it is used in. There is always controversy on the taste of lavender and that is why it is not included in this recipe and I hardly use it. I believe it should stay in the diffuser and candle department. This is why I love my 5 spice blend as it is versatile and can be used on any dish of choice without any clash or conflict of flavors.

How to make herb de Provence

In a medium-size mixing bowl, combine dried savory, oregano, thyme, rosemary, basil, and mix to combine. Transfer to a dry airtight container or spice jar and store in a cool dark cupboard. Use in dishes as desired to create delicious tasting meals.

Storage instructions

Store in a dry airtight container, you can even recycle your old spice jar and relabel for ease of access. The spice would remain fresh for up to 6 months or even longer. What is the difference between Italian seasoning and herbs de Provence? Both recipes use aromatic herbs and some similar ingredients. They can both be interchanged, however, they are of different origin. Italian seasoning is an American invention.

How to use

You can use this homemade spice in the following dishes Baked tortellini Instant pot rice and chicken Baked lemon chicken Meatballs and gravy Air fryer vegetables

More homemade seasoning recipes

Taco seasoning Italian seasoning Peri peri seasoning Fish seasoning If you made this super easy homemade seasoning recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox

Homemade Herb De Provence Recipe and How To Use It - 33Homemade Herb De Provence Recipe and How To Use It - 5Homemade Herb De Provence Recipe and How To Use It - 89Homemade Herb De Provence Recipe and How To Use It - 70Homemade Herb De Provence Recipe and How To Use It - 31Homemade Herb De Provence Recipe and How To Use It - 76Homemade Herb De Provence Recipe and How To Use It - 2Homemade Herb De Provence Recipe and How To Use It - 3