Every time I make this for dessert, I always have to make an extra mini tart. Why? Because once it’s comes out of the oven, the gorgeous almondy smell draws us in and we have to have some straightaway. That mini-tart prevents a shameful presentation of a half-eaten peach tart after dinner. I encourage you to do the same. Just sayin. We’re starting to see a lot of peaches in the shops in the UK now.  Whilst most of them are good, I still keep finding myself with punnets of rock hard ones. If you find you have the same problem, then this is a fabulous recipe to use them up, whilst adding juicy, sweet flavour to them. If your husband accidently comes home with a punnet of nectarines, instead of peaches, then this recipe works for them too. Yes, there a couple of stray nectarines in my tart!

I first starting making this recipe a couple of years ago.  It was based on a Peach Tart recipe from the BBC Good Food website, which seems to have disappeared. I’ve adapted the original recipe a little over the years.  The main one being that I no longer bother to make my own sweet pastry for the base.  Sometimes life just feels too short to make your own pastry. You can also swap out the peaches/nectarines for plum or apricots, even stoned cherries would work.  I wouldn’t bother to poach the cherries though.

Thinking about it, that would actually be a shame as that would mean no leftover poaching liquor to turn into cocktails. Serve with homemade custard or cream.

The Peach and Almond Tart Recipe:

 

Peach and Almond Tart - 61Peach and Almond Tart - 83Peach and Almond Tart - 97Peach and Almond Tart - 47Peach and Almond Tart - 29Peach and Almond Tart - 82